Simply Sockupied Knit-Along: Simply Elegant Cable Socks

This post has 40 Replies | 10 Followers rated by 3 users
Not Ranked
Posts 13
The Jacker wrote
on Apr 19, 2012 9:14 AM

Do you spin on a drop spindle or a wheel? I'm just learning to spin with a drop spindle and I'm not sure I could get the yarn thin enough for a pair of socks. Are you using 2-ply? I would love to see it! 

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 192
Editor
ForumModerator
SystemAdministrator
Anne Merrow wrote
on Apr 19, 2012 12:17 PM

The Jacker:
'm just learning to spin with a drop spindle and I'm not sure I could get the yarn thin enough for a pair of socks.

Congratulations! I have to say that learning to spin has been one of the most enriching experiences of my life--and spindles are incredibly portable. Yarn does tend to get thinner as you get more practice.

I have yet to knit socks from my own handspun, but Debbie O'Neill did design a pair using my yarn.

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Fenji wrote
on Apr 21, 2012 5:14 PM

Dear Anne,

I have a question concerning the turn heel  on page two of the pdf pattern at the right bottom. For row one it says to knit 20 , but for row two and three it says to knit 11. Where do the other stitches go. I'm sorry if I misread something, but I'm not quite sure how to move on.

Thanks a lot!!

Fenja

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 192
Editor
ForumModerator
SystemAdministrator
Anne Merrow wrote
on Apr 23, 2012 12:44 PM

Fenji:
For row one it says to knit 20 , but for row two and three it says to knit 11. Where do the other stitches go.

A good question! You leave them right where they are on the needles until you come back to them by repeating Rows 2 and 3.