Newbie Who Needs Help!

This post has 12 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 7
on Sep 22, 2012 4:44 PM

Hello everyone, I am not only new to Knitting Daily but I am also new to the world of knitting. I just learned to knit stitch and I am in the process of learning to purl stitch. I am at the point where I want to challenge myself a little more and actually begin a project. What project would be the best for a beginner? I am still not sure about the gauge. How do I go about getting it? Please help! Thank you! By the way, I do have a knitting blog that I use to document my knitting journey http://sknittenmittens.blogspot.com/. Helpful hints and comments are greatly appreciated!

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 660
salmonmac wrote
on Sep 23, 2012 11:07 AM

There are loads of free patterns on the Internet, at this site and at Pattern Central  and Ravelry (free to join). Take a look and see what inspires you. Scarves and blankets, even baby blankets can get boring and seem endless, so starting with something smaller may be a good idea.

Gauge helps you relate sitiches on the needle to inches measured on the finished piece. Patterns almost always give a number for stitch gauge or stitches per inch on a certain size needle and with a given weight yarn. You need to work a gauge swatch yourself with your yarn and needles and the particular style of kniting (loose, tight or just right) that you do. Cast on enough sts to give you about 5 or 6 inches in width, knit for 4 inches and measure over the center 4 inches to get the best idea of your sts/inch. If you're getting too many sts/inch change to a larger needle. If you're getting too few sts/inch, change to a smaller needle.

Welcome to Knitting Daily and to knitting!

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 166
marywoods wrote
on Sep 23, 2012 3:36 PM