Is it possible to yarn over on a knitting machine?

This post has 2 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Czenobia wrote
on Oct 5, 2012 8:41 PM

I have an Ultimate Knitting Machine and would like to knit a SMC dress. Unfortunately, I do not know how to yarn over with the machine. Because I was unable to find a video on this topic, I am wondering if it is impossible to yarn over on my machine. 

1) Is it possible?

2) How do I execute the stitch?

Thanks in  advance.

Not Ranked
Posts 1
uhh-kimbo wrote
on Nov 3, 2012 5:00 PM

Hi

First, I am not an expert..and never feel I will be at either machine or hand knitting..but experience with both, I will say:

A yarn over is a very simple form of increase..depending on what follows it in the next row of knitting the stitches are worked according to pattern instruction, so on successive rows, you may have difficulty if you are supposed to reform a stitch for any reason.

The simplest translation to machine will be to move a stitch to the needle to the right, and then knit so that yarn is put back on the needle by the carriage (as in full-fashioned increases)

I believe another method could be to pick up a purl bump from the preceding row ( below the empty needle) and knit normally..but I believe this will alter the row count of the yarn over..

This is my first thought on this, as I found your post while considering conversion of a pattern for myself..

Kim in NY

Not Ranked
Posts 1
247time wrote
on Feb 11, 2013 7:35 PM