Where to CO stitches for underarm?

This post has 7 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 5
on Jun 8, 2013 2:27 PM

Hello, I first would like to put a warning that I am fairly new to pattern knitting and entirely new to this scale of it. This is my first attempt at a garment. I've been doing a lot of knitting and un-knitting and strategizing but I'm stuck on this one....

I'm only listing the stitch numbers for the size I'm working on.

Divide for sleeves and body: Place first 36 sts on holder for sleeve, remove m, using the cable method, CO 3 sts for the underarm, pm for new beg of rnd, CO 3 sts for underarm, work 56 sts in patt, remove m, place next 36 sts on holder for sleeve, remove m, CO 3 sts for underarm, pm for side, CO 3 sts for underarm, work in patt to 1 st before rnd m, k1 -- 124 sts rem for lower body.

My question is.... where do I do the cable cast ons? Because of how the cable cast on works, it seems like I have to either knit the stitches I just cast on, or drag a huge piece of yarn over the back... the pattern doesn't say which. I think I'm doing something wrong because each time I try a different method, the lace pattern doesn't line up anymore.

Please help... ~ DeirdreLightning

[It is a 2 st repeat lace pattern of 4 rows and up to this point in the pattern, it's been having me keep 1 St st on each side of each marker (there were 4; 2 for each sleeve). After the divide for sleeves and body, the pattern wants me to continue putting 1 St st on either side of the two remaining markers (for the side "seams").]

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 669
salmonmac wrote
on Jun 9, 2013 4:55 AM