Bettie's Pullover/interweave winter 2011

This post has 9 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
ViviH12 wrote
on Jul 9, 2013 3:38 AM

Help!

I can't quite understand how to join the body to the sleeves or the decreasing of the sleeve and shaping the armhole at the same time. Can anyone help me with extra directions or understanding the pattern instructions? Perhaps there is a video demonstration online somewhere? I love the challenge, but am finding the instructions confusing - it's my first time circular knitting!

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 624
salmonmac wrote
on Jul 13, 2013 5:14 AM

Can you post just the few lines that are confusing you? Maybe we can figure it out from there.

Not Ranked
Posts 3
mamabird47 wrote
on Nov 30, 2013 9:18 AM

Hi Viv,

I am having exactly the same problem. When you have 18 sts each front, 72 for the back, and 16 each sleeve. The instructions say to knit 17 ssk turn, knit to end repeat twice then have 10 sts on right sleeve, Er NO! we've only decreased 3 sts. I can normally find these things out by trial and error but this is not happening and I'm spoiling the wool, constantly unpicking it.

I'm knitting this for my son's new, and lovely, girlfriend. Its already late, due to aggravations over the pattern blocks. (Where you start the wrapping short rows, and then trying to fit the feather pattern. The instructions aren't very clear. Maybe its because I normally knit back and forth and its presumed that a twit like me will know to .....? I don't.

I think there are assumptions that we'll know what is meant. I don't.

If you've found a way around this very confusing decrease I'd be very grateful for your advice. I'm desparate to finish it.

Thanks a lot xx

mamabird

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 624
salmonmac wrote
on Nov 30, 2013 7:16 PM

This question has been around for awhile so perhaps the original poster did solve the problem and will see this.