Fearless Knitting (better late than never)

This post has 1 Reply | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 8
on Mar 18, 2009 9:53 AM

Sandi,

Awhile back you were talking about fearless knitting and I had been doing things that were pretty much un-fearless except for some multidirectional knitting from Iris Schreier's book of the same name.  I've been getting your magazines for a couple of years and sometimes I look at them and think they're too complicated for me to do as I am a self taught knitter who just picked up the needles again after 25-30 years of not knitting or chrocheting.  I never had anyone to show me how to do these things as no one in my family knitted my mom just showed me how to cast on, do the knit and purl stitches and bind off.  The rest I had to learn myself and since I'm 62 there weren't computers to show you on video how to do these stitches.  I don't do as well with just pictures and explanations.  I saw one of the sweaters from the 2006 Interweave Knits mag called the Refined Raglan.  I really hadn't noticed it so much because of the bright orange colored yarn they had it pictured in on the magazine page, but the advertisement for it had it in a beautiful aqua/teal color and they had copies of the magazine to sell if you didn't have it for the pattern.  I really fell in love with it and bought the alpaca yarn (already had the magazine, never throw them away).  I had to do this one right, alpaca isn't cheap, so I knew I must be successful.

On this sweater I:

Did it in the round, had never done a sweater in the round before, even added the sleeves and yoke on leaving a small underarm area open that was then grafted together with the kitchener stitch, hadn't done that before, had to find a video on that one.

I made the hems on the bottom and sleeves that are 5-7 rows knitted with a purl row for turning and then you knit them to the body of the sweater, that was a new one too.