unknown yardage

This post has 25 Replies | 8 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
on May 30, 2009 7:58 AM

My name is Leila & I'm a nurse, I am fairly new to knitting but not crochet.  I do subscribe to Interweave Crochet.  My mom found in her 'hidden stash' somewhere in her home, 5 skeins of a vey nice yarn.  She gave them to me, saying 'make something'.  But there's NO YARDS, or size number on the skeins. 

The labe os yellowed, & I googgled it & got very little info.  The brand is:  Melrose - Designer's Choice - Cravenella - fashion yarn.  It's made out of 70% wool & 30% rayon, 2 ply, 2ounces (60 grams); dye lot - 17010.01.  It was made by Melrose Yarn Co, in Brooklyn, NY. 

Before I embark on making something out of this, I want to make SURE I have enough yardage.  does anyone have information about this yarn????  Please help me, I has a nubby but silky feeling to it - probably because of the rayon.  I also sew.....

Thanx - Leila Marcial, RN - in New Jersey

Not Ranked
Posts 2
ShelleyH@3 wrote
on May 30, 2009 3:27 PM

You could check in at your Local Yarn Store and see if there is a yardage counter that you could use/rent.

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Rebecca@3 wrote
on Jun 7, 2009 6:50 PM

I aquired some of this yarn, myself, yesterday.  I got curious as to the yardage and did the math.  Firstly, the grams indicated are not correct.  2 ounces is not 60 grams, so I used ounces to measure.  .25 ounces is roughly 26 yards, so a 2 ounce skein is in the neighborhood of 208 yards.  Hope this helps.

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 20
on Jun 23, 2009 12:40 AM

Leila,

There is another method you can use to be absolutely sure, I saw this on a knitting TV show, you cut yourself a piece of cardboard that is 18 inches by 18 inches and take your yarn end to the edge of any  side and wrap it around this cardboard, each complete wrap around is one yard, since your cardboard is 18 x 18 there is no wrong side and there are 36 inches in a yard.

I hope this helps.