THE OFFICIAL CENTRAL PARK HOODIE KAL POST!

This post has 837 Replies | 17 Followers rated by 14 users
Not Ranked
Posts 2
beefi8 wrote
on Sep 4, 2009 7:22 PM

Hello.  I am a beginner knitter and am nervous about taking on such a beautiful sweater.  I'm wondering if someone could recommend a good beginner sweater then I could maybe tackle this one.  I've only knitted squares.  I don't know anything about arm holes or anything complicated.  Sure love it though and hope to make it in the future. Tammie

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 37
on Sep 4, 2009 7:46 PM

Come on in, Tammie, the water's fine!Smile

You can DO THIS. You've only knitted squares, you say? Then start with the sweater's back piece. It's just a rectangle with a couple of cables thrown in. You can do that! Don't let crazy things like "armholes" and "shoulder shaping" scare you off. You've bound off your knitting before, right? That's all armholes and "shaping" are, binding off at the left and right edges of your rectangle to curve the edges. After you've done the back, the left and right front pieces won't seem so intimidating. And the arms are just long rectangles. Nothing complicated there, right? Take it one piece at a time.

That's the great thing about a KAL - we've got all these experienced knitters here to answer our questions as we go. This is only my 3rd sweater. And it's the first sweater I've done that doesn't have a raglan sleeve or isn't knit side-to-side. I've never had to deal with shoulder seams or sewing the arms to the garment before. I'd never heard of short row shaping for shoulders, but love the idea and can't wait to try it, knowing my fellow KAL-ers are here when I get confused. 

Not Ranked
Posts 6
CarolB@60 wrote
on Sep 4, 2009 8:02 PM

A couple of more inches and I'll be done with the back!  It's a little grayer than seen in the picture. DD wanted a neutral color and she's getting it LOL

Carol B

Not Ranked
Posts 7
ilgirasole wrote
on Sep 4, 2009 8:18 PM

Dear All -