THE OFFICIAL MINIMALIST CARDIGAN POST

This post has 776 Replies | 30 Followers rated by 19 users
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 15
PatsyH@8 wrote
on Mar 28, 2010 8:26 PM
I love the look of your bind off ArtfulSoul. I have been knitting for 56 years and I have always done the traditional step bind off. Your slopped bind off looks so much neater that I am going to try it next time. I already looked it up and discovered how it is done. it makes so much sense to me. Thanks for putting it out there. You are doing a beautiful job. Patsy
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 18
JulieK@3 wrote
on Mar 28, 2010 9:13 PM

I'm going to do a sloped bind-off, too - of course, I'm still more than an inch away from even starting that step. You guys knit way fast!

Julie

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 1,589
Zoe wrote
on Mar 28, 2010 10:28 PM

MDF:
I would like to cover up my ampleness also-but need the specific instructions on how to do so. 

Hi Diane,

For myself, I need about two extra inches across the front.  I am going to add 5 extra stitches (one inch)  to each side of the front.  I know that when I knit the "shoulder" it needs to measure the same as the back shoulder.  So what I propose to do for myself is modify the pattern instructions a little.  On the front sections, when you get to the armhole shaping, it says to BO 5 stitches (or one inch if you have made gauge.)  Work one row even, then BO 3 sts at the beginning of the next WS row.....decrease 1 st at armhole edge every other row.  For this last part  I would decrease 1 stitch at armhole edge every row  until 50 stitches remained.  I know that this would seem to be a little more steeply slanted for shaping but I figure at the bottom of the armhole it won't show.  Hope this helps.  I too am making this in the largest size.

Zoe

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 160
Beehiveof8 wrote
on Mar 29, 2010 7:06 AM

millswis:

The calming effects of Knitting.