lots of inherited yarn

This post has 11 Replies | 3 Followers
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 53
AmyLoug wrote
on Aug 3, 2010 8:26 AM

A few months ago I inherited a lot of yarn Big Smile . I have run into a few issues. Some don't have labels so I don't know what kind of yarn they are (wool, acrylic, mohair, etc.) and I don't know how many yards I have. Also, I have some yarn that is 50% camel hair and 50% wool. Is that a good yarn to have? If so, would it be good for hats, scarves, socks? I'm new at this but I'm learning! I'm not ready for clothing or anything but I'd really like to use the yarn I have inherited!!

Thanks for any info or suggestions!

Amy

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 1,589
Zoe wrote
on Aug 3, 2010 10:03 AM

AmyLoug:
Some don't have labels so I don't know what kind of yarn they are (wool, acrylic, mohair, etc.)

Hi Amy,

There is a little test to see what the yarns are made of.  Snip off about one inch of the yarn.  Burn this with a match/lighter over a candle holder.  If the yarn melts then it is synthetic.  If it gives off a burnt hair odor, then it is wool.  If it does both, then the yarn is a combination of wool and synthetic.  Snip off three lengths of two inch yarn pieces, soak these in hot hot water for a few minutes.  When they dry, if they have shrunk, it is wool.  You could also knit a 4" swatch and soak it in the hot water followed by a cold rinse.  If the swatch has shrunk or felted then it is wool, and not the superwash wool.  Superwash wool does not shrink when washed so the burn test should also be used to determine wool content.

Any small project like socks, placemats, mittens, hats etc. would be fine.  Even an afghan for the car would be fine.  Happy knitting, Zoe

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 53
AmyLoug wrote
on Aug 3, 2010 10:13 AM

Thanks Zoe!

I have quite a bit of the camel/wool yarn. I want to make socks using that, but so far I haven't had very much luck with learning to knit socks!! I'm going to keep trying though :) .