Hi, everyone, new here

This post has 21 Replies | 5 Followers rated by 2 users
Not Ranked
Posts 6
redwine579 wrote
on Mar 17, 2011 1:15 PM

Hi, everyone, just wanted to say hi.  I've only been on this site for a short while and this is the first time "blogging" anywhere.  Am a self-taught knitter with lots of learning still to do.  Tried to knit years and years ago, but nothing seemed to go right.  Started again a couple months ago, and  it seems to be going great.  Even went out and bought a "Knitting for Dummies" book, which I now consider a bible ... lol.  Taking my time with new stitches and patterns.  My next thing to learn is the cable.  Somehow, it scares me?  Should I be?  After that, it is to do patterned things.  Now THAT scares me.  This past week, I saw the Helix scarf pattern and when i saw it, my first thought was, oh, my god, I need to make that.  So I started making it on regular yarn to see how it turns out, and so far is going great.  So great, I went out and got some yarn at a yarn shop and plan on knitting a "special" scarf for myself.

Not Ranked
Posts 4
mmcantu wrote
on Mar 17, 2011 3:57 PM

Hi there. New here myself too, although i've been knitting for 2 years now. Still a novice compared to others.  Cabling scared me at first too, but just take it slowly and read your pattern carefully.  And always remember you can always start over.

One of the things i do is to make two of the same project @ the same time. One is what I consider my practice one(in other words i can mess up on it and not worry about if it has some mistakes) the 2nd one is the one i plan to give away or use. And if both turn out fine well then great, I have 2 to give away. Big Smile

Not Ranked
Posts 6
redwine579 wrote
on Mar 18, 2011 9:07 AM