sock gussets

This post has 7 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
mbh2mt2d wrote
on Apr 20, 2011 10:06 AM

Greetings fellow sockie makers!

Happy Spring!

I have been knitting socks for a couple of years now and have discovered a new way of making heels.  However, I seem the have the same problem with the holes on each side of gusset.  The big one that starts when you divide for the heel.  I tug, I twist and I still have those two holes.   Any help?

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 1,589
Zoe wrote
on Apr 20, 2011 10:36 AM

mbh2mt2d:
I seem the have the same problem with the holes on each side of gusset. 

Hi mbh2mt2d,

It really is simple and I am not sure why this is not taught in knitting books and sock knitting instructions.  It seems to be one of those tips that are passed around by other sock knitters who have had this taught to them.  In my case, my Mom passed this on to me.  She first started my sock knitting adventures when I was 10 and that was 40 yrs ago.

When you pick up the stitches along the heel flap to start the gusset, you must pick up the stitch below on the instep needle (I think this is needle #2)  where it meets the heel flap.  So on needle two, you will pick up the stitch below at the beginning and end of this needle.  You will have to make two extra decreases when you do the decreases to form the gussett in order to get back to the origional number of stitches you cast on for.  Simple isnt it?  I always knit my socks from the cuff down on dpns and I dont know of any other way to get around this "holey gussette" stuff.  Try it and see.

When you go to pick up the stitches on the left side of the heel flap, you will first pick up the left leg of the first stitch below on the instep needle before continueing to pick up the heel flap stitches.

When you go to pick up the stitches on the right side of the heel flap, you will pick up the right leg of the first stitch below on the instep needle.

No more holes in the gussette!