The Official Bella Blouse Knit-Along Forum

This post has 1,785 Replies | 101 Followers rated by 18 users
Top 25 Contributor
Posts 160
Beehiveof8 wrote
on Jul 9, 2011 8:30 AM

I have my colors all picked out but still haven't decided if I should try this.  I've never used a chart before but actually am about to on a pair of socks for my dd.  It doesn't look hard on such a small scale as socks, but the blouse looks more intimidating to be honest!  I would classify myself as an advanced beginner with limited experience in lace and cables.  Is this a reasonable project for someone like me?  Love the pattern, but a little hesitant to try it!

Not Ranked
Posts 3
NancyW wrote
on Jul 9, 2011 8:33 AM

I am also excited to get started on this.  I need to buy yarn and live in TX so need a light weight yarn.  What would you recommend for me?  Is it just 2 yarns to use?  I am not too smart when it comes to decisions on yarn, I am sorry.  I am built very much like you Kathleen and would like to make the sweater longer.  Would you recommend just adding several rows to the bottom.  I am doing this KAL because I am hoping I can get help with this.  Thank you so much. Wink

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 40
tongarii wrote
on Jul 9, 2011 8:46 AM

Sleeves:

I've fliped the pattern, don't know if this is correct, but it seems like the right way.

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 47
yarngirl52 wrote
on Jul 9, 2011 8:47 AM

I don't think you will be happy with the end result if you use Sugar n' Cream. This is a next to the body garment and that yarn is pretty rough. Also, cotton does not have the elasticity that wool does and you will find the blouse grow on you. Also, cotton tends to be dense and the finished product is heavy for its size. I speak from experience. My first cotton sweater is a cotton soy blend: it has no elasticity and it is a heavy sweater. I intended to wear in in the spring, but it is too heavy for that!!!

That said. Choose the yarn you wish.

Debbie

Debbie