The Official Bella Blouse Knit-Along Forum

This post has 1,785 Replies | 101 Followers rated by 18 users
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 143
imalulu wrote
on Jul 12, 2011 12:01 PM

Beehiveof8...what are you using for the bands?  I was going to order Valley Yarns "Goshen" but saw the color I wanted was back ordered, so I called WEBS and they said they probably won't have it until late summer.  So, I finally decided to order from Elann,com, which I have never done before.  But, I found a yarn there that was extremely similar to the original Berroco Cotton Twist...it is called "Pegasus".  It has more rayon than Cotton Twist but the weight is about the same.  I'm hoping the color will go with a peach mercerized cotton that I have in my stash and am doing the bottom band out of right now.  The band looks great.

Lynne aka imalulu

Beehiveof8:

ARGH!!!!

The peach color I ordered from WEBS it out of stock.  They shipped the trim color, without the main body color.  They won't be getting any more of the main body color in either.   

Now I have 5 skeins of the secondary color on its way, and no main color.  At least the secondary color is a nuetral earth toned color, easy to work with.  Back to the shopping I guess....

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 34
rockync wrote
on Jul 12, 2011 12:03 PM

imalulu:

I totally agree with you, Diana.  I think the side seams provide structure and that the body of the blouse may twist or bias if knitted in the round, with certain yarns anyway.

Lynne aka imalulu

dcynthiad:

Sunny, I've read that the yarn can twist when you knit in the round, and I've also read that a lot of sweaters are designed to be knit flat, instead of round, because the side seams provide structure, and as I look at the picture of the Bella and how it hangs, I think the side seams are providing the structure that makes the blouse hang the way it does. 

Diana