Need a little help on this pattern (Colorful Cropped Overlay)...

This post has 2 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 3
kasi1983 wrote
on Sep 2, 2011 4:01 AM

Hi everyone,
Sorry I haven't introduced myself before, but I might do this afterwards... (Been lurking quite some time...)

I'm not an experienced knitter, I have just begun, and didn't knit more than 2 pairs of socks and a scarf. The socks were a real challenge at the beginning... But I'm enjoying it and I'm now planning to make something that people can actually see. I have found this great pattern for this "Cropped Overlay".

It's in this document http://www.knittingdaily.com/media/p/39959.aspx on page 127

It's perfect: no complicated stitches or patterns, no fitting, just knitting and purling... What else could a beginner ask for!
But there are some details in the pattern missing - they are probably self-evident for an experienced knitter, but I'm just a beginner. I hope my questions won't sound too silly...
I'm not good at improvising, so I'm thinking through this pattern again and again in order to find and solve all problems I could maybe encounter... (Too much of an engineer, I'm sorry - it's hard to stop thinking like a software engineer when you are one...)

1) When changing from seed stitch to stockinette/reverse stockinette, should the 4 knit stitches at the beginning and at the end of every row be continued, or is it just necessary for the seed stitch? I would have guessed it should be continued, but I fear in this case it would have been mentioned. It's hard to see on the picture, because it's quite grainy and blurry when trying to zoom in (due to digitalization)

2) When decreasing for the neckline, should the decrease be done when working on the right or on the wrong side? Maybe it doesn't even matter, but I wanted to be sure.