This post has 14 Replies | 0 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 7
EFaull wrote
on Aug 12, 2008 7:37 AM

Hello all,

I am new to this site although I have been weaving for 20 years on and off. I also knit, crochet, tat, quilt, etc. As I am recently retired from my day job, there is more time to do the things I really love. My children have cooperated by giving me my first 3 grandbabies in the past 18 mos. SO-now I have little people to create for.  Currently I have baby blanket in Monk's Belt Bamboo yarn on the loom, one quilt on the frame and another cut and ready to piece, as well as a crocheted blanket in really soft yarn for baby #3 due in Nov. My daughter in Maine has Cashmere goats and she provides me with yarn from the goats to knit or crochet into scarves and hats which they then sell at Farmer's market and their Farm Store. I am located in Western North Carolina. Would love to hear what other folks are doing.

Not Ranked
Posts 3
LoomCrazy wrote
on Aug 16, 2008 6:17 PM

Hello, EFaull ...

You'll be happy to know that you are no longer the NEWEST member here! Smile  I just joined today and, like you, I've been weaving for about 20 years (and spinning ... and knitting ... and crocheting ... and collecting yarn and fiber!)

I don't have kids (therefore, naturally, no grandkids) so I have to make blankets for local charities but I get a lot of satisfaction from that even if I don't actually see the blankets in use.  I also like to crochet baby blankets for friends who have kids or grandkids. They really seem to appreciate the "handmade" items!

Right now, I have a baby blanket in basketweave on the loom:

Baby blanket on the loom

Basket weave

I really envy you having a daughter who has Cashmere goats. Gosh, a ready made source of fiber <sigh> ...

By the way, I'm in Keizer (near Salem) Oregon.

Not Ranked
Posts 2
on Aug 17, 2008 5:40 AM

Hello,