Simply Sockupied Knit-along: Ann's Go-To Socks

This post has 279 Replies | 32 Followers rated by 2 users
Not Ranked
Posts 4
djahorne wrote
on Feb 28, 2012 2:39 PM

Hi Everyone!

My name is Janice. I live in Ridgecrest, Ca. I have 1 son, 15, and 1 daughter, 9. I have never knitted a pair of socks let alone 1 sock. I have alway wanted to. So, I thought this would be a great time to give it at try. I have also wanted to knit a pair of sock using DPN also. I am somewhat new to knitting. I have made dishrages, I am working on a very easy lace shaw. My main challenge is that I am left handed, so I am pretty much teaching myself. I am going to start from the beginning and work my way up on the different socks. I went out and got me someOneline superscke 100 Emotion III color yarn that is 50% Merinowolle, superwash, 25% Viskose, and 25% Polyamid.

Being from a small town, we have a fabric store that sells some yarn also, so there is not much to choose from. The yarn calls for a 2.5, or 3.0 DPN, so I got 3.0 to start with. I have never done a swatch, but that is what I will be doing this afternoon. I will probably have to go and get me some different DPN before I will be able to start knittig the socks.

I have a couple of questions. When you measure the ball of your foot, do you need to measure it with weight bearing or non weight bearing. The reason I ask is, I have got a messurment of 7 3/4 with no weight bearing and 8 1/4 with weight bearing. Also my foot meassures 9 1/4 in length. With this info, which size sock would I go with?

Well, that is as far as I have gotten so far. I guess I need to go and knit a swatch, then I will come back to see if anyone was able to help. Thanks again.

Janice from Ca.

Not Ranked
Posts 10
maigheoyank wrote
on Feb 28, 2012 2:57 PM

ced6,

Here is the information from the pattern: