This post has 45 Replies | 7 Followers rated by 1 users
Top 25 Contributor
Posts 190
Editor
ForumModerator
SystemAdministrator
Anne Merrow wrote
on Feb 24, 2012 7:35 PM

Join us as we knit Deb Barnhill's Speed Bump Socks from Simply Sockupied!

Here's how a knit-along works:

1. Buy your pattern (in Simply Sockupied, through the app store for the iPad version or through the Knitting Daily Shop for the Mac or PC version).
  2. Buy your yarn (or find it in your stash).
  3. Introduce yourself below and tell us which yarn you're using. This is where you'll share your tips, ask questions, or upload photos, and it's where you'll find support if you're having problems.
  4. Post a photo of your finished socks when you're done.

It's as easy as that. Now let's get started!

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 19
debroby wrote
on Feb 28, 2012 1:58 PM

I'm Deb.  I'm a veteran sock knitter (toe up, magic loop, 2 at a time is my favorite technique).  For myself, I also knit exclusively with non-wool yarns.  Anyone wanting to know about them can feel free to ask.

These socks will be a holiday gift for a friend, so I won't have the fall-back of trying them on to check for fit while I'm doing them.

I'll be knitting these on Circular needles - and just picked up the Kroy Ragg yarn today.  I think the regular ribbing has the potential to make these easy socks to make and fit a wide variety of feet, but thought I'd out the repeats/rounds idea with the original yarn.

Now, one "techy" question: I downloaded the PDF pattern which seems to reside in this Sockupied app.  I really prefer to store my PDFs in the GoodReader app because it lets me leave notes and mark up the pattern just like a printed one.  Is there a PDF link so I can transfer the pattern over to my favorite medium? 

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 190
Editor
ForumModerator
SystemAdministrator
Anne Merrow wrote
on Feb 28, 2012 3:13 PM

debroby: