Single Ply vs. Double Ply

This post has 7 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
CarolynM@3 wrote
on Sep 14, 2008 5:41 PM

I have a question:  I have been led to understand that you must knit or crochet with a plied yarn.  Is there any reason I can knit or crochet with a single ply?  I have 20 balls of single spun yarn that I spun.  Should I go ahead and ply these balls?  They were spun with the S twist.  I am fairly new to spinning so I don't know all the terms.  I am also not sure how many twists to the inch in my yarn. 

Not Ranked
Posts 8
EmmaS wrote
on Sep 15, 2008 1:00 PM

I'm not a spinner so i don't know about the different spinning techniques, but in sock yarn articles they stress that plied yarn is stronger and will wear better, especially if tightly spun. I'm not sure this applies when it comes to scarves and such, but for hard-wearing items consider "the ply factor" lol

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 260
Tephra wrote
on Sep 15, 2008 1:07 PM

It is possible to knit with singles though as the person above me mentioned, they don't wear as well as plied yarns. Do be aware that because the twist isn't balanced with a ply if you knit with a single your stitches will lean to the side like |/ or \| (depending on S or Z, or Z or S, I can't remember which way the twists lean) rather than be a balanced \/. I suspect it makes less difference in crochet, but I haven't tried it.

Not Ranked
Posts 3
on Sep 15, 2008 1:40 PM