Lace disaster

This post has 13 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Sheffer wrote
on Jun 29, 2012 3:12 AM

I would be really grateful if anyone could advise me here. I'm fairly new to knitting and I want to knit a nice simple  lace border for a sweater. I found this:

Row Number Begin Row Repeat  
Row: 1 -
(Right side)
* yo, k1, yo, k2, (k2-tog) twice, k2, yo, k2-tog, k1 repeat from *
Row: 2 - * purl repeat from *
Row: 3 - * yo, k3, yo, k1, (k2-tog) twice, k1, yo, k2-tog, k1 repeat from *
Row: 4 - * purl repeat from *
Row: 5 - * yo, k5, yo, (k2-tog) twice, yo, k2-tog, k1 repeat from *
Row: 6 - * purl repeat from *
Row: 7 - * yo, k3, k2-tog, k2, yo, k2-tog, yo, k2-tog, k1 repeat from *
Row: 8 - * purl repeat from *

So I tried a test piece, repeating the pattern twice, and ended up with this:

What's gone wrong????

Many thanks

Lizzy

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 647
salmonmac wrote
on Jun 30, 2012 5:35 AM

Very pretty pattern. Make sure you're doing the yarn over correctly.

http://www.knittinghelp.com/video/play/yarn-over-continental

It doesn't use a stitch, it occurs between stitches.

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 166
marywoods wrote
on Jul 31, 2012 12:38 PM

Hi Sheffer,

I am a lace knitter from way back.  Your knitting may not be the problem.  I have seen this leaf border before.  It is commonly used as a shawl or towel edging.  However most of the  leaf patterns don't use a K2tog decrease to get that ridge in the center. The type of decrease that is shown in the picture looks more like a slipped double decrease known as Slip 2, Knit 1, pass the two slipped stitches back over the one stitch you just knit.  It is often abbreviated as S2K1 P2SSO.

I have a couple of questions for you.

1.  Where did you find the pattern? Check back with the source and see if there is a listing for an error correction.  No matter how stringent a site or book is proofread, errors do pop up and they are not found until you actually try to work the pattern.