To Kit or not to Kit

This post has 7 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 6
Jaden Shadow wrote
on Jul 13, 2012 2:51 PM

I've been knitting for almost 10 years now, mostly using the same set of mismatch needles I got handed down from my grandma. Now that I'm in a position to buy my own I'm finding all these kits and I have to wonder if I should kit or just buy each size pair by pair? Should I get metal like I've been using FOREVER or should i try the wooden ones? (I know I can't use the plasic they just feel weird).

Should I Kit? If so, whitch one should i get? Help please?

Knitting is Theropy

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 48
dbaines wrote
on Jul 14, 2012 3:03 PM

Have you ever tried wooden needles?  Maybe get one pair for your next project and see if you even like them.  I, personally, have a set of Aero metal straights and circulars that were bought a pair at a time when i was younger and they are still great (although maybe a little warped).  I have recently bought some Brittany Birch straights in the sizes I use most often and I love them.  Because I've already sunk so much money into needles, I can't really justify buying a kit as well.  But if I were to start at the beginning again, I probably  would by the kit.  Decide if you want metal or wood and then check some reviews.  For what it's worth I would likely have gotten a Harmony wood kit because it has the sizes I use most often, they're really pretty, and the price is good.  There are lots of other kits out there (metal, wood, or plastic) in a wide range of prices.  I will say that before buying an entire kit, I would get one pair of straights from the company to make sure I liked them.

Good Luck!!

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 689
salmonmac wrote
on Jul 15, 2012 7:47 AM