First attempt at designing lace curtains....need guidance

This post has 21 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 13
knitapeace wrote
on Dec 23, 2012 8:49 PM

I have been knitting for about 5 years - this however, is my first attempt at lace, and first attempt at designing my own project without a pattern, so I would appreciate whatever guidance might be offered. And I have a couple of questions about determining yardage and needle choice.

Project: I would like to knit lace curtains + valances for two windows. Another matching valance to cover one small shelf in a built-in shelving unit. Opptionally, thinking about adding an inset lace panel in the top of the shower curtain, and if there is enough yarn left over, I might trim some towels with a band of lace.

The lace pattern I've chosen is called "Cabled Feather." A multiple of 18, (minimum of 2 multiples) with 8 row repeat.

As to the design, I was thinking that I would work the first three inches at the bottom in the lace pattern, with the balance of the curtain panel or valance worked in stockinette, interspersed with a verticle line of pearl stitch every 2 inches (or so) across the body; echoing the verticle lines of the bead board of the lower half of the wall. But I'm open to other design suggestions.

Overall, the curtains should have a lacy country feel, allowing plenty of light, while still providing the necessary privacy from the outside. How do I determine what weight yarn would best achieve these goals and which needle size to use?

Cost of course will be a serious consideration. I think cotton or a cotton blend would be a good choice, for washability and durability, though it might make working the lace more difficult. (I want the project to be fun, not a bear!)

Finally, how do I calculate yardage needed for the total project?

Thanks in advance for your help, advice and suggestions!

Debbie R.

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 640
salmonmac wrote
on Dec 24, 2012 4:47 AM