Knitting my first afghan/throw, need some help!

This post has 4 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
xquigs wrote
on Dec 27, 2012 9:46 PM

I am relatively new to knitting, I recently taught myself via youtube videos, books, and a lot more patience than I usually possess. I have knitted a few plain scarves as well as a few infinity scarves! (I'm ridiculously proud of myself since I generally lack the creativity gene).

ANYWAY,

I am looking to start my first "big" project, I would like to knit an afghan...nothing special, just plain old knit stitch with tassels. My boyfriend just got me Caron Simply Soft in Ocean (so beautiful), and I would really like to use this as my main/starting color (I think I may eventually add in some more colors as I get going). 

My question is, what do you guys think my needle size should be? The above mentioned yarn is size 4. I was starting to knit a scarf with this yarn on size 8 needles, it was a pretty tight stitch, should I go up to size 10 needles? (I currently do not have size 10 to test this out). Again, the afghan will be NOTHING fancy, just used as a throw or to cover up my feet...

Also, I do have a set of circular needles (size 13, 48 inches long), do you think these may suffice for this project? Or will they leave my stitches too large? And is there anyway to get the nylon(or whatever the material is) to stop curling up so it is a little bit easier, or will the circular needles eventually straighten out from the weight of various projects? I would like to stick with circular-they will help me keep everything together!

Thank you for your patience as well as your help!Big Smile I am really excited to get this project started!
-Melissa 

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Kweenie wrote
on Dec 27, 2012 10:16 PM