Managing multiple colors/balls of yarn

This post has 1 Reply | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 2
LornaS wrote
on Feb 12, 2009 6:23 AM

WOW!! I am new to doing forums and there is a ton of great stuff out there! I'm am attempting color knitting and have already run into a 'snag'. How do I manage all of the balls without tangles and still stay sane. Right now I have 5 balls but will go up to 7 soon. HELP!!

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 988
AndreaW wrote
on Feb 13, 2009 9:53 PM

Hi Lorna...

When I joined here, that was my first experience w/ forums but it's been fun + a great learning experience. So nice to be able to be in contact w/ people fr all over the world who share a love of knit/ crochet/ etc.

You are definately working w/ a lot of colors @ once. Are they all needed in the same row? I don't think there is any one perfect solution. Things I've found that work are:

Don't "pull out" any more yarn than you really need fr any ball. The shorter the "strings" the easier it is to untangle.

If you only need a tiny bit of some colors...you may be able to just make a "butterfly" of that color so you don't have a long tail attached to a ball. 1 less color to tangle!!!

I have @ times put each color in a small plastic container on the floor @ my feet. Sometimes you can shuffle them around a bit w/ your feet as you work to reduce the tangle.