New Knit-a-Long

This post has 254 Replies | 14 Followers rated by 2 users
Not Ranked
Posts 12
KathyM@3 wrote
on Jul 9, 2009 9:08 AM

Well, Mini-swatched.  looks good to me.............

Was just going to cast on and start the cuff, but managed to get through it -- caught myself knitting through the front of the loop and had to go back!

Then I was so excited I kept gong and got through the first 4 rows.  Started the 5th and my eyes started to go.....  I think this will be fun.  The pattern starts to show up right away.

Oh, I cheated and wrote out the "words".......i.e, p3, K2tog, etc.   -- I'm new to charts.  Hope I did it right........If not, my sister will surely "needle" me

Happy stitching,

Kak

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 24
kat7914 wrote
on Jul 9, 2009 5:12 PM

Hi,

I had to frog my sock the first time, too.  I didn't notice the chart started at the bottom so had to frog only two rows.  Also, I did a 2 x 2 rib for 1" because I like 2x2 better and I only repeated the pattern all the way through twice as I like a short sock. 

I've done the heel and am now working on the foot with the pattern only on the instep. 

for some reason, though, I'm not sure my lace patterning looks the same as the photo.

I, too, hate charts so wrote out the instructions.  much easier, I think, as I kept getting lost.  It is a fun pattern and I always wanted to try one of Cookie's patterns.   The heel was quite easy.

Kat

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 23
Ginny@45 wrote
on Jul 9, 2009 7:10 PM

Hi, 

I've never done a kal or made socks, but I've used double pointed and circular needles for other projects.  Are you using double pointed or circular for this pattern?  I have my yarn but I'm not sure what needles to use...double pointed or circular.   Any suggestions?  I'm going to try to catch up with everyone.  This should be fun!

Ginny

Not Ranked
Posts 1
nancy@199 wrote
on Jul 10, 2009 11:26 AM