New Knit-a-Long

This post has 254 Replies | 14 Followers rated by 2 users
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 46
JanieW@4 wrote
on Jul 12, 2009 6:36 AM

Hi Ginny,

I am new to KAL but you were asking about what needles to use.  I have knitted a lot of socks and I alway use double point needles.  I have used cicular needles before and my socks are still on the ciculars LOL.  So, I like the old fashion way of using double points. I use three needles. I cast on 21 st on needle 1, 21 st on needles 2, and 22 st on needle 3. This is 64 sts. Smile Then you knit in the round.  Hope this helps you.

Janie

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 46
JanieW@4 wrote
on Jul 12, 2009 6:45 AM

Hi Kak,

What a great idea for casting on.  I have put 21 st on needle 1, 21 st on needle 2, and 22 st on needle 3, but I like your idea and I am going to us it.  I am still working on the cuff.  Just getting startedSmile

Janie

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 24
kat7914 wrote
on Jul 12, 2009 8:51 AM

hi, jj,

I'm rather new at knitting socks myself.  I've made about 1 1/2 pairs and now knitting this monkey sock pattern.  The yarn I wanted to use is Plymouth's Happy Feet.  I really like that yarn but we're moving and my yarn is packed or in storage right now so all I had to use is some Red Heart sport weight.  I had to use a smaller needle and make the smallest size for this KAL.    I did learn that yarn with a DK in it's name or type is a heavier sock yarn so I try to stay away from that. 

I believe you do post your progress on this blog.  I think you just start knitting, ask questions here or post your progress.  That's about all I know about it.  LOL

I am hoping someone can tell us how to post a picture.

I found I needed a refrresher on doing lace and that's why I started these socks.  I was actually looking for a lace scarf and found this KAL.

I'm about ready to start the toe of my first sock.  Would love to post a photo when I learn how.

Kat

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 24
kat7914 wrote
on Jul 12, 2009 8:55 AM