Hello from Georgia - New Knitter

This post has 13 Replies | 3 Followers
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 17
vbbusch51 wrote
on Oct 26, 2009 6:21 PM

Good evening, All.  My name is Virginia.  I've been obsessed with knitting for one year this month.  I fell breaking four ribs and puncturing a lung.  My dear niece suggested I try knitting.  I'm crazy for it.  Right now, I'm working on wristlets for my daughters for Christmas.  Other interests include photographing my daughters, our four dogs, two cats, and architecture.  I love to read historical fiction, mysteries, and of course, chick knit lit!   I would love to hear from folks.  Write when you take a break from knitting!  Vee

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 1,589
Zoe wrote
on Oct 26, 2009 8:55 PM

Hi Virginia,

Welcome to this knit site.  I am just a newbie at this site myself but I have found it very helpful.

I started knitting when I was a little child.  Over the years I picked up other hobbies such as crochet, sewing, cross stitch, painting and stuff.  It seems to me that when I am laid up with my arthritis or just plain get in the mood, I love to knit.  The feel of the yarns and the patterns are so relaxing and destressing.

If there is a project you would like to undertake but dont quite know how, then just ask and some kindred knitter will eventually let you know where to find the stuff you need.  You can  share your ideas too.

Wonderful minds are knitted together, Zoe

Not Ranked
Posts 1
MaryLeeM wrote
on Oct 27, 2009 8:17 AM

Hello - I too live in Georgia!  I have knit since 1981 when Ms Maggie Righetti lived in Atlanta and taught at a local Yarn Shop.  She is the best - you should get "Knitting In Plain English" by her and then you will really be in love with knitting.  She writes as if she is there in the room coaching and visiting with you!    Happy Knitting and as Maggie says "Knit Someone Warm With Love".

Not Ranked
Posts 2
trishaknits wrote
on Nov 15, 2009 8:27 AM

hi virginia,