The Yggdrasil Blanket: A Study in Elegance

This post has 8 Replies | 5 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 4
on Mar 12, 2010 1:35 PM

Can anyone tell me if there is a written and not chart pattern for the Yggdrasil Blanket?  I would like to try this pattern but I am not very good at knitting with charts.

Carol

Not Ranked
Posts 3
Crinaeae Rai wrote
on Mar 13, 2010 6:40 AM

There is no written pattern to my knowledge, but you could try hitting up Ravelry.  Honestly, I suggest taking this opportunity to get over your fear of charts.  I used to be afraid of charts as well, but once I learned how they work and how to read them, I never want to go back to just written out patterns.

So far, I have found the charts in this piece to be really easy.  One of the great things about this pattern's chart is that the center chart doesn't repeat.  So, after you're done each row, you can cross it off with a marker.  This way, you don't find yourself getting lost in the middle of all the symbols.

If all else fails, why don't you try writing out the chart yourself?

Best of luck,
Rai

Not Ranked
Posts 2
wwsusanb wrote
on Mar 13, 2010 2:02 PM

Okay, I'm ready to take up the challenge!  I've never knitted from a chart either and frankly, I'm terrified.  Up til now, whenever I've seen a beautiful pattern with a chart, I've squeezed my eyes shut and flipped the page, pretending I didn't see it.  Confused

In your post you said you learned how they work and how to read them.  Any thoughts on where I can get an understandable explaination?  Thanks for the inspiration to pry open my mind and expand my possibilities!  Susan

Not Ranked
Posts 4
Den ise wrote
on Mar 16, 2010 2:33 AM