Yarn you no longer love

This post has 58 Replies | 3 Followers
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 37
pwyarnlady wrote
on Oct 16, 2008 6:20 PM

Stick out tongue This is really funny.  I spent the morning putting the yarn I didn't want any longer - had it for years - in plastic bags.  This is the second time I've done this.  I really need to get rid of the yarn I know I'm not going to use because I have so much of the yarn I really love!

I have my friend's daughter and daughters-in-law take what they want and they dispose of the rest as they see fit.  If there is any left this time, I'm going to donate it to my church's craft group.

I hate getting rid of it, but I've been buying yarn on sale for over 20 years and have quite a stash.  Besides, I want to use my new, pretty yarn!

Peggy

Not Ranked
Posts 1
SerenaC wrote
on Oct 16, 2008 7:16 PM

It's important to decide if you don't want to use the yarn at all or if you just don't want to use it for you and those you like to knit/crochet for.  If you're certain that you never want to use the yarn for any purpose, donate it to a thrift shop or a shop that takes donations of such materials for artists and teachers.  For example, we have S.C.R.A.P. in San Francisco.  If you live in an area without such shops, call some local churches.  Many have charity knitting groups that love donations for their projects.  Likewise a needle arts guild might accept donations for charity projects that they knit.  Is there a Michael's or other craft store where people routinely gather to make knitted and crocheted pieces (the size is described by the store) to fit together for charity blankets.  Perhaps they would accept your yarn.