Fair Isle: in the Round Joining Help!

This post has 26 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 9
dearose wrote
on Apr 11, 2011 8:06 PM

Hi! I'm a fairly new knitter (or rather, just developing). This is my VERY first Fair Isle knitted project (no swatches or anything!), and I've come to a point where I realize i have a bad knitting habit from being self taught: I don't know how to join my rounds. I THOGHT it was as simple as knitting the next stitch, but I apparently thought wrong! For any of my solid color knitting, I've not seen this as a problem, but with Fair Isle knitting, it obviously is. My patterns aren't matching up on the rows.

I'm working on a (absolutly ADORABLE) little boys hat. It involves skulls and some classic-looking Fair Isle patterns. As you can see in the -blurry- pictures below, they're not lining up. From my searching, I've found the: "slipping the first stitch on the left to the right, then taking the -now- 2nd sitch on the right and slipping it over the first onto the left needle, then knitting as usual" method...but I've not found if that's for every row, or just the first? And how would this apply to Fair Isle?

PLEASE HELP!! and thank you very much in advance! and here's a better look at the whole hat (adorable, is it not??? and not too bad for my very first try!)

I'm going to continue knitting it, but I plan on making SEVERAL more Fair Isle projects, so this help is VER much appriciated!

-Dea

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 304
on Apr 12, 2011 4:17 AM

Wow, you did great work on the knitting.

There are several ways to join in the round.

1) Cast on and when you get back to the 1st st, just knit it.

2) Cast on, adding an extra stitch, then k2tog to join the last and first stitch.

3) Cast on, then pass last stitch over the 1st stitch, before starting your knitting.