Fabulous Projects completed lately?

This post has 880 Replies | 20 Followers rated by 6 users
Not Ranked
Posts 1
madan_mohan wrote
on Nov 30, 2010 5:55 AM

I'm proud to say that I just finished working on my baby's knitted shoes. Actually its my first time doing this extra ordinary skills. I very happy from what I accomplished and every time I see my baby wearing those little handmade shoes, I felt useful and loved. Thanks for this post that I have the chance to share my feelings and emotions. I'm excited to read more about your experiences..

Not Ranked
Posts 1
on Nov 30, 2010 9:38 AM

Hi Everyone,

Thought I'd tell you about my current WIP. I'm knitting a "quilt". It's Target Log Cabin from Kaffe's "Simple Shapes, Spectacular Quilts" quilting book. It's pretty big for a knitting project around 65" x 80".  20 12" squares with 3" wide striped sashing strips with pinwheel blocks as the "cornerstones". In all my years of knitting I've only knit a handful of "flat" objects..a lace tablecloth & a few scarves. So I thought it was time for a blankie.

Here's a link to a photo of the original quilt; scroll down. You can zoom in to see the design.

http://www.gloriouscolor.com/store.php?cat=303

Anyway I had a few challenges to meet. I didn't want any seams because of the seam's rigidity & general weakness so I'm knitting it together. I knit the log cabin blocks starting with a provisional cast on for the center square then knit the logs around & around leaving the outermost stitches on a thread. My plan is then to join the blocks together while knitting the striped sashing & cornerstones. The finished size dictated the yarn--didn't want it to be too heavy to launder at home so I'm knitting in fingering weight yarn at 7 spi which means 14 rows in garter st OR over 14,000 sts per block.  (If I'd have thought about what I was starting maybe I would've been dissuaded but I dove right in.)