Official forum for the KOOLHAAS HAT KNIT-ALONG!

This post has 280 Replies | 40 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
DawnHM wrote
on Nov 8, 2011 9:20 AM

Hi! My name is Dawn and I have been knitting for a few years but this is my first knit along. I have knit some sweaters recently but love knitting hats and scarves - instant gratification and they always fit! I will be heading to my LYS to pick up yarn today and will get started tonight...

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 1,335
Editor
SystemAdministrator
on Nov 8, 2011 11:38 AM

ruthess:

Hi, I think  Rounds One and Five should read like this:

Round 1:  *sl 1 st onto cn and hold in front, P1, K1 tbl from cn,   sl 1 st onto cn and hold in back, K1 tbl, P1 from cn * repeat to end.                       

Round 5:  *sl 1 st onto cn and hold in back, K1 tbl, P1 from cn,  sl 1 st onto cn and hold in front, P1, K1 tbl from cn * repeat to end.                       

That looks right to me, Ruthess.

Kathleen

Not Ranked
Posts 7
spool64 wrote
on Nov 8, 2011 12:18 PM

I'm going with a very bright, Xmasy red wool yarn from Joann's.  I was planning to use a little bit better quality yarn, but have not been able to go to the "good" yarn store.  I didn't want to wait to start the project.  I've finished the ribbing, now on to the real work!

Wondering how many KAL folks we have in total.  Is there an easy way to track the number of unique posters to this blog?  Has everyone chimed in?

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 20
Vermontmary wrote
on Nov 8, 2011 1:08 PM

Like so many others, this is my first KAL. I just visited my LYS and bought some lovely Rowan lima, 84% baby alpaca, 8% merino wool, 8% nylon.Soft!!!! I have knitted for many years, but only recently have become aware of all the "new" jargon. I find just reading the Koolhaas pattern challenging, so knitting it will be a learning experience, I think. I'll be looking for some support once I get swatched and the ribbing done...

Vermontmary

Not Ranked
Posts 11
bgroulx wrote